BISD Athletic Hall of Honor Class of 2020 Inductees

“This year’s inductees to the Athletic Hall of Honor are truly deserving, and we are very proud of what they accomplished,” Boerne ISD Athletic Director Stan Leech said. “They achieved so much while at Boerne, both on and off of the field. They all went on to have success after graduating from Boerne as well. We are excited for them, their families and the Boerne community,” said Leech.

The 2004 Boerne High School Football Team, Russell Moldenhauer, Hunter Lawrence, and Drew Oldis, will be inducted at a ceremony on Oct. 23. Russell Hawkins will also be honored, earning the Bill Canavan Memorial Benefactor Award.

An induction ceremony will be held Oct. 23 at 11:30 a.m. at Tapatio Springs in Boerne to honor the Boerne ISD Class of 2020. This will be the 11th class selected for induction after the hall of honor was created in 2010.

A look at the class of 2020:

2004 Boerne High School Football Team

The 2004 Boerne High School football team is considered one of the most successful teams in Boerne history, having reached the State Semifinals that season. Coached by Tommy Bludau, the Greyhounds went 12-2 during the memorable 2004 campaign, winning the District, Bi-District and Regional Championships, before falling to Marshall 21-3 in the State Semifinals.

“The 2004 team was just a great bunch of kids, and I’m proud of them all,” Coach Bludau said. “They were a very unselfish team. Everyone did their job. We had great leaders and had a tremendous senior class. There were so many of them that took us to the next level. This was an outstanding group of kids, and I thoroughly enjoyed this team,” said Coach Bludau.

In the 2004 Regional Finals the Greyhounds defeated Harlandale, in a game which Coach Bludau said sticks out to him from that season. “The regional final game in the Alamodome was so memorable. Harlandale was a great team and did things to beat you,” Coach Bludau said. “Our kids really responded well in that game. I was proud of our effort, our kids did a tremendous job to compete that day. I am so proud of them,” Coach Bludau said.

Russell Moldenhauer 

After the Greyhounds 2004 State Championship Baseball season, Russell Moldenhauer was named the Class 4A/5A Texas Player of the Year, and received multiple All-State and All-American honors.

Moldenhauer went on to be a four-year starter in baseball at the University of Texas, and was drafted by both the Anaheim Angels and the Washington Nationals organizations.

Hunter Lawrence 

Hunter Lawrence was a highly successful kicker for the Greyhounds football team, and was named Class 4-A First-Team All-State two years in a row.

After his success at Boerne High School, Lawrence was a top recruit for the University of Texas, and was signed by the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

Drew Oldis 

Drew Oldis was a key offensive lineman for the Greyhound Football team, and was named First Team All-State, as well as graduated in the top 10 percent of his class in 2006.

After his many accomplishments at Boerne High School. Oldis went on to play for the University of Texas Football team.

Russell Hawkins

Russell Hawkins will be the recipient of the Bill Canavan Memorial Benefactor Award. Mr. Hawkins has served the Boerne community for over 20 years. Initially he was a sports writer for the Hill Country Recorder and later as a sports photographer for Boerne and Charger Athletics.



  Copyright © 2019 Boerne ISD   Website Design and Hosting by Beck Photography