BISD Athletic Hall of Honor Class of 2011

Patricia Baxter-Johnson

Patricia Baxter-Johnson, known as Patsy Baxter when she was at Boerne High, swung her way into Boerne ISD history by becoming the first female in the district to win a state championship in the spring of 1984 when she captured the 3A girls individual golf title.

Baxter-Johnson then made more BISD history in 1985 when she became the first athlete in the district to repeat as state champion when she defended her crown.

Baxter-Johnson was also the regional golf champ 4 years in a row and a member of the Lady Greyhound basketball team that advanced to the state semifinals in 1985.

While she didn't play golf for a college team, Baxter-Johnson did play on the Ladies PGA tour full-time for 8 years and has been playing part-time ever since. Her best year came in 2005 when she was 89th on the money list and had a top-10 finish in a tournament. She also qualified for the U.S. Open in 1991.

A.C. Lex

A.C. Lex is considered by many in Greyhound country to be one of the greatest – if not the greatest – football players to ever come through Boerne.

Lex, known for his toughness and humility, graduated from Boerne High School in 1961 and had quite a football career as a Greyhound and beyond. At Boerne, Lex lettered all 4 years in football, was an all-district selection 3 times and an honorable mention all-state pick for the 1960 season. Lex also lettered 3 years in basketball, 2 years in track, and held the BHS record in the shot put for a time.

After graduating from Boerne High, Lex went on to star at Sul Ross where he led the Lone Star Conference in rushing one season. After college, Lex had free agent tryouts with 2 NFL teams and eventually played professionally for the San Antonio Toros of the Continental Football League.

Eugene Canavan

Eugene Canavan is considered by many to be one of the best overall athletes in Greyhound history. Canavan, whose last name is synonymous with Boerne ISD athletics, was all-state in football, basketball and track, and is the only graduate in BISD history to achieve that honor.

A 1960 graduate of Boerne High, Canavan was part of the 1958 Greyhound basketball team that was the first in school history to medal at state.

He lettered all 4 years in football, was all-district 3 years and honorable mention all-state one season.

In basketball, Canavan lettered all 4 years and was an all-district selection 3 years. He was second team all-state one season and an honorable mention pick another year.

Canavan also stood out for the Hound track team and qualified for the state track meet 2 years in a row. One season, he finished third in the high jump to return the Boerne with a bronze medal, to go along with the bronze medal he won in basketball. Canavan held the BHS high jump record for 22 years.

The 1963 BHS Football Team

The 1963 Boerne High football team etched itself into BISD history for a lot of different reasons. The Hounds finished the 1963 campaign with a 10-1-1 mark, and was the first football team at BHS to reach the 10-win plateau. They also recorded 8 shutouts that year, which is still a BISD record.

Once the playoffs started that season, Boerne defeated Somerset 44-6 before they lost to Woodsboro 20-12 in the regional semifinals. That one playoff win in 1963 would be the last by a BHS football team for 39 years until the 2002 Greyhound defeated Jefferson in the Alamodome, 33-0.

The important thing to remember about that 1963 period is that only one team from each district advanced to the playoffs. During that time, it wasn't uncommon for a state-ranked team to miss the postseason because they finished second in the district. In other words, the 1963 Boerne High team had to be pretty good just to get in.

Members of that team included Steven San Miguel, Randy Wilson, Gary Whiting, Richard San Miguel, Junior Rendon, Johnny Sotello, Ronnie Wright, Larry Whitworth, Bob Liesmann, James Phillip, Roland Pfieffer, Glen Cravey, John Lancaster, Bob Reed, Jesse Griffin, Louis Rodriquez, John Phillip, Rene Leal, Brent Sugg, Carrol Griffin, Mike Mattick, Any Sotello, Bob DeWinne, Paul Montez, Tom Smith, James Hollon and Billy Sultenfuss.

They were coached by Buck Turk and Joe Wyatte. Managers were Robert Sotello, Joey Tomlinson and John Dacy.

  Copyright © 2019 Boerne ISD   Website Design and Hosting by Beck Photography